Back to All Events

The Green New Deal, Tackling Climate Change & Inequity

Please join us Thursday, May 2 for a forum hosted by SIERRA magazine Editor in Chief Jason Mark in conversation with leaders in the growing movement for a Green New Deal. Hear strategies for achieving state and local policy wins, building awareness and momentum, and shaping the content of this bold plan to tackle climate change and inequity at the scale and speed that justice and science demand.

Date: Thursday, May 2
Time: 11:00am PT / 12:00pm MT / 1:00pm CT / 2:00pm ET

Hosted by
Jason Mark
SIERRA Magazine Editor in Chief 

Kerene Tayloe
Director of Federal Legislative Affairs,
WE ACT for Environmental Justice

 

Varshini Prakash
Sunrise Movement Co-founder
 

Ben Beachy
Director, A Living Economy,
Sierra Club

Click to Register

Climate change and inequity are two of the biggest crises we face, and the Green New Deal takes aim at both. Climate change magnifies systemic injustices -- the same working class families and communities of color who have to grapple with low wages and toxic pollution are now also getting hit hardest by climate-related storms, wildfires, and flooding. Join us to learn about the economic policy transformation that unites communities fighting pollution, workers fighting for good jobs, and frontline groups fighting for racial and economic equity.

We’d love to hear from you in advance of the forum, and welcome you to submit your questions beforehand.

Earlier Event: April 28
Drive Electric Earth Day - Skokie
Later Event: May 11
Chicago River Day at LaBagh Woods